Skip to primary navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Reviews

Tall Bloke Adventures

Google Reviews

July 2022

A truly wonderful experience, yes the glorious weather helped and the stunning panoramic views surrounding Ullswater. Leigh was a wonderful guide, he was easy company and I thoroughly enjoyed putting the world to right with him and his minefield of knowledge. On the water he offered observant and intermittent instruction but otherwise gave confidence for you to just sit back and glide of your own volition. I loved it and as a solo adventurer I was so please Leigh could offer me this 1:1 experience. I’ll be back. – Helena

June 2022

Really enjoyed our 3 hour evening kayak tour with Leigh – great tour guide and a lovely bloke! Would definitely recommend. – Sophie

June 2022

Fab coach. Had such a good day out on the water. – Simon

June 2022

Great morning with Leigh who was pleasant, informative, knowledgeable and very calm in explaining what to expect from the kayak trip. Once out on the water, we went near to an island and inlet as well as across the middle of the lake where we saw superb views. The 2-person kayak was extremely stable and easy to paddle. Would highly recommend and will be returning – 5 stars. – John

June 2022

Had an amazing 1 to 1 kayaking experience with Leigh. I’ve done kayaking before and enjoyed it but shown only the basics. With Leigh I was shown so much more. How to paddle the right way which makes kayaking even more enjoyable and easier. Very knowledgeable man easy to get along with. He’s even sent so links to the conversation we were having. Thanks Leigh. – Ben

June 2022

First of all Leigh, WHAT A GUY. Leigh is a lovely, kind person and you can tell he cares about the customers and their experience. He makes it fun, enjoyable, and also a learning experience, he’ll ask you about you and is genuinely interested in you as a person. He loves a good chat! Best thing we’ve done here, by a country mile. – Mattie

June 2022

Was a well spent day Kayaking with Tall Bloke Adventures, it was a very nice experience and Leigh made sure to have maximum fun and joy. He really knew how to teach kayaking and to make it joyful and interesting with his riddles and challenges. – Sara

June 2022

First time kayaking experience with my partner, Leigh showed us the ropes fantastically, great humour and accomodating to our skills (or lack thereof). Fully recommend, great day out for couples. – Martin

June 2022

We did a morning of kayaking on Ullswater with Leigh. It was fantastic and would 100% recommend. Leigh had great kit – really nice kayak with splash decks so we stayed lovely and warm and dry on a cold day. He also gave us waterproof coats/trousers and gloves as it was due to rain, which we weren’t expecting and were very grateful for. We had been kayaking before, and Leigh was able to give us useful tips to improve our technique which was great. We did some fun activities, and just paddled around enjoying the stunning views! It was a very small group on that day (just us in a double and him) so it felt like we had our own personal instructor. – Isabelle

May 2022

Leigh is good instructor, top bloke easy to get on with ,was good to get out of the everyday norm, what an amazing adventure well worth our two hour drive ,couldn’t have asked for better condition and the view is spectacular.i would say you really got your money worth we was out on lake about three hours and there was a few surprises along the way. – Damian

May 2022

I had the most amazing time kayaking yesterday. The views where breathtaking.Leigh made us feel welcomed his approach was fab such a lovely man. I will definitely come again. This is a must do I specifically travelled 2 hours just to experience tall bloke adventures and I’m glad I did. The best adventure I’ve ever had. Stick it on your bucket list people..tall bloke adventures it’s a must thanku for everything leigh love sam and king. – Sam

May 2022

I had a wonderful time kayaking with Leigh on the beautiful Ullswater. Leigh is a great guide and a kind person. He is personable, engaging, and sincere, and he really adds a personal touch to the experience. I enjoyed getting to talk with him while we kayaked on the lake. I highly recommend this to anyone, it is an unforgettable experience. – Vivian

May 2022

Wanted to try something new and kayaking sounded fun. Couple that with a tall bloke who likes to chat now that’s a great way to spend a morning 😁. Such a good time, would highly recommend no matter what your experience levels are. Leigh makes it a fun experience and definitely doesn’t go overboard 😉 – Jo

April 2022

Incredible experience in one of the most beautiful places in the UK! Thank you Leigh for such a wonderful time! We spent 3 great hours discovering the lake, having fun and taking some challenges that made the time goes so fast. Definitely we will be coming back. – Maria

April 2022

Brilliant afternoon with Leigh. He made our experience wonderful; we had so much fun. – Lydia

March 2022

Leigh make us feel confident & comfortable kayaking. Clear and simple instructions given. Loving Kayak, Ullswater, Lake district now… Thanks Leigh. – Mandy

March 2022

Outstanding day out in Ullswater with Leigh. Great company as well as a great tutor! Would definitely recommend and will be back on our next visit to the area! Thanks again for a great day Leigh. – Adam

March 2022

We enjoyed a glorious morning kayaking with Leigh on Saturday. The friendly welcome put us all at ease and the session was managed perfectly to suit our mixed abilities. We all had a great time and would thoroughly recommend the experience. – Stan

March 2022

Had an absolutely amazing time kayaking with my partner. Leigh was a great coach and we did lots of different challenges and games as well as just kayaking around the beautiful lake. Incredible scenery and great conversation with Leigh who was very knowledgeable. Everything you need is provided too – couldn’t recommend highly enough. – Holly

February 2022

Brilliant way to see the beautiful scenery of Ullswater. Leigh the host was from the start very welcoming and reassuring providing a safety briefing and any kit or items to enjoy an amazing day out kayaking. Leigh provided fun games on the water and answered all my questions of the scenic views on the way. Being a complete novice in kayaking Leigh showed me some skills and techniques and I felt completely safe at all time out in the water. If you are in the Glenridding area I would highly recommend the kayak tour and Tall Block Adventures. Thankyou Leigh for such a enjoyable day out on the water. – Jess

February 2022

We had a brilliant time. It’s a lovely location and Leigh made the trip really interesting. He provided all the kit we needed to keep warm and dry and coached us 2 novice kayakers through the early stages so we weren’t nervous on the water. 100% recommended. – Christine

February 2022

A memorable day out on Ullswater in safe hands of Leigh. Despite the wind, progress was made and a few laughs on the way. – Catherine

February 2022

An excellent afternoon spent kayaking with Leigh , we couldn’t have enjoyed it more. Leigh was a brilliant teacher and guide giving us some useful tips. Liked the mix of kayaking and games, not sure about the maths quiz though! We even managed to bring a bit of tree home with us, a great momento of a fun afternoon. Will definitely book another trip when we’re in the area again. Thanks Leigh. – Judith

December 2021

My brother and I had a great day out with Leigh! He was very knowledgeable and made us feel right at ease straight away. He was very adaptable to our needs and took us on a beautiful trip around Ullswater, would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to explore the lakes – Ashley

November 2021

Leigh was a wonderful guide. He waited for us by the side of the road so we didn’t get lost, patiently explained how to use the kayak, provided an abundance of equipment (along with loads of spares) and was very knowledgeable about the local area. We had a lovely time out on the lake and Leigh played loads of fun games with us (we won’t be forgetting “couples therapy”!). Would highly recommend to anybody visiting the area who has 2-3 hours free one morning and would like to enjoy Ullswater in pleasant company. – Conor

November 2021

This is a fantastic experience for anyone who wants to get out on the lakes! Leigh is an excellent host and took the time to make sure we were fully set-up and comfortable with the equipment we were using. This made our time on the lake completely fuss-free and allowed us to really make the most of our time. We’ve had some experience with kayaking, but Leighs helpful instruction increased our confidence and improved our technique. Considering the normal price of a rental kayak, the value this experience offers is great. Kayaking with Leigh is like bringing a friend you’ve known for ages. The challenges and games kept us on our toes and the conversation was extremely varied and interesting. I cannot recommend this enough. – Christopher

October 2021

Down to earth, knowledgeable, interesting and enjoyable trips (had 2 of them a day apart). Will tailor to your needs with great conversations, tour guide info and kayaking knowledge. Highly recommended….and yes he is tall!! – Ian

September 2021

I would highly recommend booking to go out on the water with Leigh! He got everyone involved and it was such a knowledgeable, friendly and enjoyable experience for all ages. For my first time here in the Lake District, I couldn’t have hoped for a better day out. – Jess

September 2021

We were first timers at Kayaking and Leigh with his knowledge and expertise put us at ease. We had a fantastic time on the lake and would definitely recommend tall bloke adventures.👍 – Dawn

September 2021

What an amazing experience! We booked the 9:30 slot with Leigh. He gave us plenty of information to make sure we felt safe, confident and comfortable in the kayaks. We didn’t expect such interaction – between getting to know us all and playing games with us, it was a fantastic morning. The session took us far out on the lake and also a little section for the river. As novices, it was perfect. Thank you!! – Holly

September 2021

Leigh the owner and tour guide is a legend starts with a great intro on best techniques to use and things to do to help with comfort in the kayak also has waterproof bags to put valuables His waterproof phone covers came in very handy great way to have a tour/adventure on the lake and a bit of a cruise up the river totally recommend this activity to everyone. – Andrew

September 2021

Really great day out and well organised. Leigh was a very good teacher, really easy to talk to and very friendly. Good value as well. Would 100% recommend. – Ian

September 2021

We took part in an afternoon Kayaking tour. The experience was outstanding, and Leigh was an excellent host. One of the best days of our holiday, and I thoroughly recommend Tall Bloke Adventures. – David

August 2021

Leigh is a genial host who fully prepared us on shore before we embarked on the kayaking trip. His feedback and banter along the way added to the occasion and made it a thoroughly enjoyable experience. We loved the glorious and atmospheric Ullswater and the sun and shadows on the surrounding hills. – Colin

August 2021

Had a fantastic morning on the lake, after initially being very nervous, Leigh’s calm and patient manner put us at ease immediately. Highly recommend and if ever up that way would definitely do again. Thanks again Paul and Leigh.

August 2021

Fabulous morning on Ullswater lake! Leigh is a great teacher and fabulous company on the water. Definitely to be repeated! We had a great time! Thanks for having us Leigh! – Svea

August 2021

We had a great time out on the lake today with Leigh. Super relaxed and friendly with great chat and fun challenges. We’d love to come back again and do this tour. – Bethan

August 2021

Had the most amazing morning exploring with Tall Bloke Adventures. He was funny, professional and made our trip very enjoyable. Would definitely recommend and return in future. Thanks again. – Camilla and Dan

August 2021

Myself and my husband booked a kayaking day out with Leigh. Unfortunately I couldn’t join in but my husband had an amazing time. Leigh was very made the experience extremely fun and for someone who has never had any experience with kayaking before it truly was an amazing experience. I would definitely recommend booking with TallBlokeAdventures. You are guaranteed to have an amazing time out on the water. Wishing you all the best Leigh. I will definitely be joining you next time. – Samrah

August 2021

We had the best time! Leigh was such a great instructor! He was super clear and calm with all his instructions. We loved the games but most of all the beauty of being on Ullswater lake was the best. Will recommend to everyone heading to the lakes. – Hanna

August 2021

What a fantastic way to explore the beauty of Ullswater! Leigh was a great tour guide with so much information about the lake district. I would highly recommend booking a tour with him. – Luke

August 2021

What a fantastic experience! Me and my brother joined Leigh on such a great morning kayaking along Ullswater. We had both never kayaked before and Leigh was so patient & understanding with us and was a brilliant teacher, as well as a really decent guy who was genuinely interested in getting to know you. I’m so glad I came across the company and have been recommending him to everyone – I will most definitely be coming back! – Nicole

 

TripAdvisor Reviews

July 2022

What a wonderful way to finish our stay in the Lake District and to see Ullswater lake. We have been Kayaking and canoeing before but Leigh was great at giving us advice on improving our technique and had just the right balance of fun, games & information. We learnt some interesting aspects from him about the lake and it was an absolute treat to go up the river at the end. A very attentive caring guide/instructor that clearly has a wealth of experience in what he’s doing and loves the area. – Ami

July 2022

Leigh is very informative & knowledgeable, had the best time and so much fun. Would recommend to anyone thinking of trying it. – Hannah

July 2022

Good experience with excellent coaching by Leigh. Explained what we needed to do and helped when we were struggling. Really enjoyed our time on the water in the Kayak and would recommend it to others. – Vince

July 2022

We had a fantastic time on Ullswater – hunting unicorns, paddling through Venetian foundations, avoiding the shallows on the entrance to the hidden river, giving way to the Raven, riding the wake, speeding through the open water, and debating the finer points of ancient teachings!
Leigh – guide, expert, raconteur, environmentalist, traveller, philosopher, sage, multipotentialite.

A great day out – cannot recommend highly enough – Chris

July 2022

A truly wonderful experience, yes the glorious weather helped and the stunning panoramic views surrounding Ullswater. Leigh was a wonderful guide, he was easy company and I thoroughly enjoyed putting the world to right with him and his minefield of knowledge. On the water he offered observant and intermittent instruction but otherwise gave confidence for you to just sit back and glide of your own volition. I loved it and as a solo adventurer I was so please Leigh could offer me this 1:1 experience. I’ll be back. – Helena

June 2022

Great morning with Leigh on a very sunny Ullswater in June. Leigh was pleasant, informative, very knowledgeable and calm in explaining what to expect from the kayak trip and answered any questions I had. Once out on the water, we went near to an island and inlet as well as across the middle of the lake where we saw superb views. The 2-person tandem kayak was extremely stable and easy to operate and I always felt safe. Highlights were seeing the lake and surrounding fells from angles you could only see from being on the lake as well as seeing a fighter jet flying directly overhead at less than 100 feet! Leigh took some photos on his own camera (as well as my friend and I taking our own photos) and sent the photos to us the same day. Would highly recommend the experience and will be returning – 5 stars. – John

June 2022

Fantastic time kayaking with Leigh. Excellent teacher and kayaking companion. Been kayaking before but not taught more than the basics. Leigh’s instructions were easy to follow and made the experience fun and easy. – Ben

June 2022

Where do I start…! Leigh is a brilliant, kind and caring guide who clearly has a huge passion for being out on the water and wants to share that with everyone he meets. We had a beautiful sunny afternoon on Ullswater, great chats and a good laugh. I would highly recommend this experience to anyone. Leigh took loads of photos for us (to save us risking taking our phones out!) and sent them onto me straight away. The water was so tranquil and calm, and he shared so much knowledge with us – we would definitely return! Thank you Leigh. – Amy

June 2022

We spent a morning on Ullswater in a tandem kayak with Leigh there to guide us and have a good chat. We had a great time despite paddling against some pretty strong wind at one point. Would highly recommend, Leigh is a lovely guy and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. – Emily

June 2022

First of all Leigh, WHAT A GUY. Leigh is a lovely, kind person and you can tell he cares about the customers and their experience. He makes it fun, enjoyable, and also a learning experience, he’ll ask you about you and is genuinely interested in you as a person. He loves a good chat! Best thing we’ve done here, by a country mile. – Mattie

June 2022

It was an amazing experience. Enjoyed every single moment of it. Leigh is very professional and very nice as well. He made sure we enjoyed our time collecting unicorn duckies :)) and the challenges and of course riddles. Thank you Leigh for this adventure. – Sara

June 2022

We did a morning of kayaking on Ullswater with Leigh. It was fantastic and would 100% recommend. Leigh had great kit – really nice kayak with splash decks so we stayed lovely and warm and dry on a cold day. He also gave us waterproof coats/trousers and gloves as it was due to rain, which we weren’t expecting and were very grateful for. We had been kayaking before, and Leigh was able to give us useful tips to improve our technique which was great. We did some fun activities, and just paddled around enjoying the stunning views! It was a very small group on that day (just us in a double and him) so it felt like we had our own personal instructor. – Isabelle

May 2022

Absolutely loved my kayak experience, the view was mesmerising. Leigh was amazing such a lovely man, really welcoming such a lovely instructor he was with us throughout the 3 hours on the water 100% going again. Bathroom facilities, parking all close by a must experience in the lakes. Thank you for an amazing experience. Love Sam and King. – Sam

May 2022

Four of us had a wonderful afternoon with Leigh on beautiful Ullswater. We felt safe, we had fun and Leigh was great company. – Judith.

May 2022

We had a great time kayaking with Leigh on Ullswater on one of his 5-8pm evening tours. The set-up and instructions were clear, and everyone in our group had an excellent time – it was calming but made fun, plus we had a great time chatting and getting to hear from Leigh about the lake and other stories. We always felt at ease and just had a very pleasant time! For me it was the perfect way to see the lake up close and have a good time with my partner and our friends. For the time and assistance we had from Leigh, I’d recommend this as a must-do activity and great value for money. Thanks to Leigh for a great start to our weekend holiday. – Sarah

May 2022

The set up and safety is fantastic. Leigh was very informative, knowledgeable and helpful. The family had a great 3 hours on Ullswater seeing the sites. For those that may be less confident Leigh spends his time reassuring you and showing you exactly how to have a enjoyable time on the lake. For sure we would return and go again. A lovely end to our holiday. Come rain or shine you couldn’t fail to be impressed. Thanks Leigh. – Louise

April 2022

Leigh was a great instructor, even before we met him, he ensured that our experience was easy and enjoyable. He made sure on the water we had a great time, watching carefully and tailoring activities to meet our needs and abilities. Leigh was also great company, chatting away with his fantastic stories and making the whole experience one I would happily repeat. Can not recommend this more.- Louise

April 2022

We went Kayaking with Leigh and from the get go his energy and clarity was brilliant, just what we needed. We took to the water with ample assistance and guidance, Leigh is friendly, bubbly and a pleasure to talk to we had a wonderful time and would recommend his kayak experience to anyone. – Nuala

March 2022

Leigh was a fantastic instructor and I had a fabulous couple of hours on Ullswater. Would highly recommend the kayak trip. – Sharon

March 2022

We had a fantastic trip with Leigh. Very knowledgeable and attentive. Good company as well as a good tutor. Will definitely recommend to anyone visiting Ullswater to pay Leigh a visit. We will be back ! – Adam

March 2022

We can’t thank Leigh enough for showing us how to kayak, giving us fun challenges to complete and providing everything we needed to go out on the beautiful lake. Leigh truly shows his passion for the Lake District and what he does. He shows such interest in everyone that goes on his tours and has some great stories to share. We will recommend this experience to everyone we know. Thank you so much!🦄 – Naomi

March 2022

My friend and I enjoyed a fantastic morning kayaking with Leigh. We had only kayaked once previously. Leigh was extremely patient and a great teacher. Great chat as well made for an enjoyable, educational and relaxing morning on the water. Thank you! Highly recommend. – Claire

February 2022

From the start Leigh’s communication was very informative with details of location, what the day would entail and advise on what kit / items you may want to bring with you.
The day of the trip I was greeted by Leigh with a warm welcome and instantly reassured with being provided a safety briefing and Leigh making sure any of my concerns were answered.
Me being a complete novice to kayaking Leigh was very knowledgeable and I felt completely safe at all times when in the water. Highly recommend Leigh and the kayak adventure if you find yourself in the area of Glenridding it was such a brilliant experience and a fun day out.
Thank you Leigh for such a lovely unique day out on the water. – Jess

February 2022

We had a brilliant kayaking trip with Leigh. He’s really knowledgeable, calm and patient. He provided all the kit needed (in all shapes and sizes) to keep us warm and dry on the water. It’s a fantastic way to see the stunning scenery and I’d definitely do it again. – Christine

January 2022

We went out on the water with Leigh for an afternoon trip. He was very welcoming and ensured we were safely prepared for our trip. It was fun throughout and Leigh made us feel very relaxed on the water. The trip had beautiful sights, interesting facts from Leigh about Ullswater and some fun games in the Kayak. Really memorable afternoon and would definitely recommend to others for a fun, unique experience on the water. Thank you Leigh for a lovely afternoon and for being so friendly. – Rhi

October 2021

A Boys weekend, we have just enjoyed a morning on the water with Leigh. He gave everyone confidence in windy conditions. He combined coaching tips with easy conversation and even some competitive games. If you fancy kayaking make sure you go with Leigh – David O.

October 2021

Excellent experience. Leigh was first class, knowledgeable, competent, relaxed and friendly. For a introduction to Kayaking, I would thoroughly recommend. – David C.

October 2021

Leigh was a superb instructor inspiring confidence whilst teaching us how to Kayak safely.
3 hours went by in a flash. All the equipment provided was of a very high standard.
A really enjoyable experience in a stunning location. Highly recommended. – Peter

September 2021

This was absolutely epic. Leigh is amazing! Book your kayaking experience with him NOW!
This was our favourite part of our lakes holiday. Leigh is such a fantastic instructor but also he really cares about his customers. I feel like I have gained kayaking experience and also made a new friend! – Kathryn

September 2021

My partner and I booked an afternoon’s kayaking with Leigh. Leigh is very knowledgeable and we learned a lot about best practice with the kayak before we got out onto the lake. He made the kayaking as fun as possible, while maintaining our safety and learning at all times. It was a really fun afternoon – the scenery is great also. Highly recommended. – Graham

September 2021

The whole thing from start to finish was Excellent, didn’t take long to get to grips with the paddles and we were off. Great Crack with Leigh our instructor all the way round and some fun games along the way. – Stephen

September 2021

Highly recommend a booking with Leigh ‘Tall Bloke’ if you are a novice to kayaking. He was very patient with his instructions, safety and technique.
Beautiful location
Very Health & Safety conscious, including covid precautions.
A brilliant half day spent on Ullswater. Thanks Leigh! – Amanda

September 2021

My idea to do something outside of my partner and my comfort zone, see the landscape from a different perspective, and get some exercise!
Leigh did not disappoint! He had everything we needed for a comfortable experience, even chilled bags for our water!
The tuition was thorough and he made it easy for us to get into our groove. The games were an unexpected surprise and hugely entertaining. My partner was sceptical but came away totally converted to Kayaking.
The weather was also amazing, and it wouldn’t surprise me if this was also Leigh’s doing! – Rick

September 2021

A great experience and would highly recommend to anyone visiting the Ullswater area, Leigh was very welcoming and a true professional. To top it off the weather was beautiful.
Thanks Leigh for a great experience of the lake.
Many thanks. – Wes and Emma

September 2021

What an amazing experience! We booked the 9:30 slot with Leigh. He gave us plenty of information to make sure we felt safe, confident and comfortable in the kayaks. We didn’t expect such interaction – between getting to know us all and playing games with us, it was a fantastic morning. Thank you!! – Holly & Andrew

September 2021

Leigh is very friendly and helpful. He did a detailed explanation before going out and gave useful pointers whilst out on the water. Would highly recommend even for people with no experience. – Olly & Chloe

September 2021

We had an amazing morning kayaking on Ullswater with Leigh! He gave us plenty of info before we set off and set us lots of fun challenges along the way. A very personal and unique experience, a great morning with great company! We would recommend this trip to anyone. – Amy & Alex

September 2021

Absolutely amazing afternoon with Leigh – highly recommended. Detailed briefing before we set off, good 2 hours on ullswater- great fun! – Rachel & Jeff

August 2021

Probably the best part of my trip to Ullswater. My girlfriend booked this activity for the both of us even though I had/have a fear of being on the water, however due to Leigh’s experience, teaching and humorous banter, after five minutes being on the lake kayaking for the first time my fears disappeared very quickly and I became more confident kayaking. The views were beautiful and the banter added to the overall experience. 10/10 would recommend if you are ever in Ullswater to visit Leigh and experience kayaking under his tutelage. And if you are with your significant other he definitely provides the best “couple’s therapy” LOL. – Grayson

August 2021

A brilliant day out on Ullswater with Leigh! He is hugely proficient and experienced and quickly puts you at ease, even if the conditions are a little challenging. We toured quite a long way along the shores of the lake, doing some games and challenges along the way, which were fun and brought out the competitive side! Be ready for some riddles and brain-teasers along the way too! Thanks for a great morning out, Leigh! – Lucinda

August 2021

We took part in an afternoon Kayaking tour. The experience was outstanding, and Leigh was an excellent host. One of the best days of our holiday, and I thoroughly recommend Tall Bloke Adventures. – David

August 2021

Leigh is a genial host who fully prepared us on shore before we embarked on the kayaking trip. His feedback and banter along the way added to the occasion and made it a thoroughly enjoyable experience. We loved the glorious and atmospheric Ullswater and the sun and shadows on the surrounding hills. – Colin

August 2021

Leigh is an excellent instructor and guide. Thoroughly enjoyed the morning on Ullswater. Equipment is top class and Ullswater is a lovely location. – Alex

August 2021

We had the best day ever with Leigh! A great experience and he couldn’t do enough for us, we had so much fun and would definitely do it again next time we’re in the area. – Grace

August 2021

Had a fantastic time on the lake, after initially being very nervous Leigh’s calm and patient manner immediately made us feel at ease and we thoroughly enjoyed our morning. Would highly recommend and if ever up that way again will definitely be going back. Thanks again Paul and Leigh.

August 2021

What a fantastic way to spend a morning! This was our first time kayaking. We had so much fun and learned lots. Leigh is a fantastic teacher and fun company when out on the lake. The challenges were great fun. Time flies when you have fun. We will definitely do this again. Absolutely recommend going out with Leigh if you want to learn to kayak and have fun! Thanks for having us! See you soon! – Svea

August 2021

It was our first time in a double kayak out on beautiful Ullswater even though the weather wasn’t that great Leigh made the experience unforgettable, with his fun activities and amazing knowledge. We can’t wait to return hopefully the weather will be kinder next time. – Graham

August 2021

We had an amazing time on the water in fantastic double kayaks. Leigh is a great guide and includes fun activities along the way adding to the overall wonderful experience. We would highly recommend this activity with Leigh. – Leigh

August 2021

We spent a morning (a family of 6) with Leigh in a stunning part of the UK. Leigh was patient and funny, and the games tested our skill (!) in the kayak. I would highly recommend this activity – it was a great way to see the lake and we all said it was the highlight of our week. Thanks Leigh! – Sam

August 2021

Leigh was great, excellent experience loved by everyone. Helped get us started and was very patient with novices. Weather was epic and the setting on the lake is amazing. – Christian

 

Facebook Reviews

July 2022

Fantastic experience with Leigh – great guidance, stunning scenery and lovely to hear more about the area – highly recommended
Thank you! – Rachel

May 2022

Absolutely loved my experience kayaking, Leigh was an amazing instructor he made us feel welcome explained everything stayed with us throughout the whole experience. parking was close we didnt have to walk. bathroom facilities are there. the view was out of this world i would highly reccomend to stick tall blokes adventure on your bucket list. I’m definitely coming back again thankyou leigh for an amazing experience. – Sam

May 2022

We had an amazing time out on the kayak today with Leigh. would highly recommend to anyone visiting the lake district. He made us feel comfortable and safe. The combination off the fantastic views, leighs games, story’s and his knowledge made it a perfect afternoon. 10 out of 10. – Terri-Jade

March 2022

We had a fantastic time kayaking. Despite it being very damp and windy we loved it. Leigh was a great guide, good conversation and we felt in good hands throughout our trip. Thank you very much. – Shona

October 2021

Had a fab time on Ullswater with Leigh. Learnt lots of great kayaking tips, as well as facts about the lake and surroundings. Will be returning! – Bethan

September 2021

Epic ! I highly recommend Leigh at Tall Bloke Adventures for your Sea Kayaking guided adventure on Ullswater.

Despite be members of British Canoeing and regular users of Kayaks and Canoes, this was our first attempt at paddling Sea Kayaks.
Leigh explained everything at the beginning and installed us with confidence.
His presence throughout gave us reassurance and he was fantastic company too.
we explored beautiful Ullswater and played some games and did challenges designed to improve our skills and build confidence.
We absolutely loved every minute of it and didn’t want it to end. Already have withdrawal symptoms and havent stopped talking a lot it since we got home. – Adrian

September 2021

Leigh gave us plenty of information to make sure we felt safe, confident and comfortable in the kayaks. We didn’t expect such interaction thinking he’d just be there to make sure nobody gets stuck. But between getting to know us all and playing games with us, it was a fantastic morning and a shame to come to an end. Highly recommend if in the area (we were staying in Calthwaite) Thank you!! – Holly

August 2021

Thanks Leigh for a great morning kayaking on Ullswater. We had a blast. Can’t stop talking about it. That is definitely the start of a beautiful friendship/new found love for water sport 😃
Highly recommend ✅ – Helma

August 2021

Would like to thank Leigh for an a-maz-ing time today kayaking at Ullswater. we were nervous to start with but as soon as we met him we instantly felt at ease and ready to go. His calm, patient manner made the whole experience really enjoyable. Would highly recommend and it’s a 10 from us!! – Leigh

August 2021

My second time out on Ullswater with Leigh. Even the wind and rain couldn’t dampen our spirits. Experienced, calm and clear guidance, and we had a great afternoon. Very highly recommended, even if you’ve never tried it – have a go! – Tony

 

Airbnb Reviews

July 2022

I really enjoyed my trip out on the lake with Leigh. Leigh is a great conversationalist and you can tell how much he loves guiding his guests. I was so immersed in the experience that the three hours flew by so quickly, I wish I could’ve booked him for the whole day! The lake is beautiful and this was such a peaceful morning for me. You will not regret it. – Sarah

July 2022

An unbelievable experience!! Leigh is a fantastic teacher who took his time with me after a nervy start on the water! Would recommend this is anyone and would love to do it again. – Conor

July 2022

Leigh was absolutely amazing, we were so lucky to find him! I booked this as part of our honeymoon trip and didn’t really know what to expect. Leigh was great at explaining everything and it was so chilled out but professional. We had a brilliant time on the water, Leigh is super easy to get along with and we all had some really interesting chats. Really grateful for such a lovely experience, thanks Leigh. – Lizzie

June 2022

Leigh is definitely a great and considerate coach for kayaking. We were always encouraged to do things at our pace. And amazingly after three hours, our kayaking skills and confidence improved so much. Also we enjoyed the stories and little games arranged by Leigh. Fun trip. Highly recommended. – Ming

June 2022

Myself and my wife spent the morning kayaking session with Leigh, we were a little apprehensive but really we shouldn’t have been, from the moment we arrived we were looked after by Leigh and given what I’d say is the most fun 3hrs kayaking with all the equipment you could possibly need in one of the most beautiful locations in England. If you are considering this just book it! It’s amazing. – James

June 2022

Would highly recommend this experience! We had such an amazing, tranquil and adventurous afternoon on Ullswater. Leigh was fantastic, helpful, kind, chatty, knowledgeable and just very keen to share his passion for the lakes. We would 110% return for this experience again – thank you Leigh – Amy

June 2022

Loved the whole kayaking experience! Amazing conversation and some fun activities to do during the kayak ride! I would definitely come again. – Lina

June 2022

Would highly recommend this experience! We had such an amazing, tranquil and adventurous afternoon on Ullswater. Leigh was fantastic, helpful, kind, chatty, knowledgable and just very keen to share his passion for the lakes. We would 110% return for this experience again – thank you Leigh. – Amy

May 2022

I had a wonderful time kayaking with Leigh. Leigh is kind, easygoing, and personable. I thoroughly enjoyed getting to talk with Leigh and share our experiences while we kayaked across the beautiful Ullswater. I highly recommend this to anyone, it will be a memorable experience for sure. – Vivian

April 2022

Leigh is s an amazing host. I had never expected that kayaking could be this much fun! Leigh is professional and kind. He is also a good chatter. I particularly love his teaching philosophy – encouraging all the time. Highly recommend. – Chong.

April 2022

It was a really surprised and wonderful experience, amazing view, great weather, and nice people. I have learned a lot of kayaking skills and Leigh’s life wisdom 🥳 – Yaya

April 2022

Really good trip out on the water Leigh is a great host and very knowledgeable about the area. – Richard.

April 2022

Leigh is very talkative man. He have big knowledge about kayaking and he was supporting all of us really well and we are not experienced. There is plenty of shelters and rests on Ullswater. Leigh also made for us pictures that I will frame it later on 😌 Very nice experience 💚 I couldn’t stop smiling 😁 – Olga.

April 2022

Fantastic experience!! This was our first time out on a kayak trip and it was so fun. Leigh was brilliant and keeping up entertained, as well as looking after us and our safety all the way through. I felt very comfortable and confident on this experience, even with next to no experience. Leigh has definitely made me want to look into ways to do this again as I had so much fun! I would 100% recommend this if you Want a safe and enjoyable way of getting out on the lakes. – Natalie

March 2022

Kayaking provided an incredible opportunity to soak in amazing views of the surrounding landscapes, and a great break from hiking. Leigh was a great guide, with heaps of advice and information for us as novice kayakers. A really good experience, would definitely recommend. – George

March 2022

Our trip to Ullswater wouldn’t have been complete without actually getting on the water. We can’t recommend Leigh enough, an incredibly well thought through experience with some fun challenges along the way. – Tammy

March 2022

It was an amazing experience, Leigh went above and beyond to make sure we were okay and enlightened us with great stories and activities during our kayaking session. Totally recommend this experience and the view is the cherry on the top. – Anju

February 2022

Leigh was a really friendly guide on this adventure. We learnt so many new skills about kayaking amidst facts about the local wildlife. He was warm and patient with us even though we forgot left from right 😂 Leigh went above and beyond to ensure our safety and warmth on a rainy day. – Sasha

February 2022

Leigh was a great guide – thorough safety briefing, knowledgeable and easy to chat to. Was a magical experience to be kayaking in such a stunning location. – Jack

February 2022

Such a great time and experience. Leigh was really good at explaining what you needed to do and the challenges that he set were a great way of learning how to use the kayak. Really good experience and would recommend it to anyone. – Liam

January 2022

Brilliant day . Leigh was very friendly & professional . Made everyone feel at ease . Beautiful location. – Claire

January 2022

Amazing experience. Super friendly host. We felt comfortable and everything was well Instructed. The lakes are stunning. Unforgettable birthday adventure. Thank you Leigh – Marco

January 2022

Great way to see the lake 🙂 Leigh was very supportive and thoughtful too- especially for anyone less confident on the water. – Anna

January 2022

What an experience! Leigh was the perfect instructor made us feel safe and comfortable in the water, extremely friendly and also provided extra equipment which was useful for the activity. Better than we imagined! Will definitely be coming again 10/10. – Jasmine

December 2021

My girlfriend and myself had an absolutely amazing time. Spent just over 2 hours on the lakes and saw some amazing views! The instructor came with plenty of kit which was lucky as we had forgotten a couple of waterproof items. Would definitely recommend. – Will

November 2021

Magical place for kayaking. Leigh was very reassuring and he had all the gear ready. – Jamie

November 2021

Leigh was a great instructor. He was patient and funny. He made our first experience quite enjoyable. Deffo recommend!! – Shaquilla

November 2021

This is a fantastic experience for anyone who wants to get out on the lakes! Leigh is an excellent host and took the time to make sure we were fully set-up and comfortable with the equipment we were using. This made our time on the lake completely fuss-free and allowed us to really make the most of our time. We’ve had some experience with kayaking, but Leigh’s helpful instruction increased our confidence and improved our technique. Considering the normal price of a rental kayak, the value this experience offers is great. Kayaking with Leigh is like bringing a friend you’ve known for ages. The challenges and games kept us on our toes and the conversation was extremely varied and interesting. I cannot recommend this enough. – Christopher

October 2021

Kayaking on Lake Ullswater was the highlight of my trip to the Lakes. Despite me being the only person booked that afternoon, Leigh still took me on a beautiful tour of the water. The kayaking instruction was clear and well considered, great for beginners or people feeling very rusty (as I was) and Leigh is great at instilling confidence and you feel complete trust in his expertise and the equipment. We had a great afternoon exploring, and just chatting about the Lake district (he’s extremely knowledgable and very passionate about conservation in the area). Even gave me a great recommendation on where to eat for dinner that evening. This was a beautiful experience, if for nothing more, it allows you to view the scenery and lake without a mobile phone in your hand and gain a real connection to nature. Thanks very much Leigh. – Chris

October 2021

Both my partner and I thoroughly enjoyed this experience. From the ‘couple’ games to the riddles to the surprising thoughtful and interesting conversations. Left feeling that we should have a chat at a pub! Awesome experience, I highly recommend! Thanks again Leigh! – Akira

October 2021

Easily one of the most enjoyable experiences in Glenridding. Excellent hosting, nice guidance and variety of activities. The host will make sure you enjoy every second. Definitely recommend ! – Anas

October 2021

Great experience. Leigh explained things really well and it was a lot of fun. I booked as a solo person, but felt part of the group from the beginning and as soon as I arrived was put at ease. Would recommend and would book again. – Conny

October 2021

Thoroughly enjoyed. Leigh is friendly and clearly very experienced. Would recommend to anyone. – Alex

September 2021

I would recommend this experience to anyone who loves the outdoors or wants to see more of it. Leigh helped us from our beginner level of experience and we felt safe and secure the whole time so we could just enjoy ourselves. He even kitted us out with the right clothing! – Eymon

September 2021

If you’re thinking about doing any watersports in the lakes, book this. Leigh is amazing. He is such a good instructor. He helped us gain confidence and skills in kayaking and also gave us some fun games to play and some tougher challenges. Also, he completely went above and beyond and let us borrow some of his own fleeces and waterproof trousers etc when he realised we didn’t have proper clothing, just to make sure we would be comfortable and warm out on the lake. He’s such a lovely guy, I feel like I have made a new friend. I really don’t think you will get anywhere near this kind of experience with anyone else or any other company. – Kathryn

September 2021

Leigh has though about everything that will make it an experience to remember. From the smallest details to the fun way that he delivers basic skills training you’ll need to enjoy kayaking. He gives very clear and easy to understand instructions which I really appreciate especially because English is not my first language. I can tell that Leigh enjoys teaching and wants to share his love of the sport to us newbies. Definitely worth it! – Jocelyn

September 2021

I would definitely recommend this activity. Leigh is a good host and instructor, keeping the instruction fun. The location is stunning, and this is a great way to enjoy it. You can cover a great deal of the lake even as a beginner in this guided session. Leigh seems to have thought of everything to make this a fun and safe activity. – Alex

August 2021

We had a fantastic morning with Leigh. It’s a really well organised and fun experience in a beautiful location. He’s a great conversationalist and the activities are well thought out. We would 100% return. – Laura

August 2021

Leigh made the experience one to remember. Great teaching, patience, story telling and laughs. Amazing scenery and location. Leigh was very friendly and helpful, and I would 100% go on this activity again. – Shaun

August 2021

Great trip and to be able to see the lake from the water. Leigh was great fun and supports you to be the best canoeing expert you can be. – Emma

August 2021

Leigh is an extremely friendly, but thorough instructor. He is also knowledgeable and entertaining. The kayaking was fun and not too tiring. Highly recommended – Simon

August 2021

Thank you Leigh, for your knowledgeable, thoughtful and personable approach. Your attention to detail meant that we learnt a great deal and, as a result, we felt at ease. This made us more confident and helped us to enjoy the experience even more. Your ability and experience clearly shines through and you handled the different abilities in our group expertly. The variety of activities meant that we practised new skills in a fun way and we thoroughly enjoyed our morning with you kayaking on the lake. We recommend you highly. – John