Skip to primary navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Reviews

Tall Bloke Adventures

Google Reviews

November 2020

We had a great afternoon out on the water with Leigh, and another couple. Leigh was brilliant – gave really detailed instructions, and made us feel super comfortable and happy before we got out on the water. Our 3 hours was fab, taken to different areas of the lake and had fun along the way with different challenges. I would definitely recommend! – Claire

October 2020

Fantastic and fun trip out on the Lakes with Leigh in the Lake District. Knowledgeable about the area, clear and concise with his communication, lovely to chat to and some fun games helped spice up the tutorial / learning to kayak. Stunning location. Would recommend.- Chris

October 2020

Great afternoon on the lake with Leigh! Top bloke and very friendly and knowledgeable. Felt safe the whole time and all equipment was thoroughly cleaned before we used it. Would recommend it to anyone, great activity for couples and a great way to see the lake and nature from a different angle. Would do it again and recommend Tall Bloke Adventures to anyone. – Leigh

October 2020

This was one amazing morning done at a nice relaxing pace. Leigh is brilliant in showing you what to do and his boatside chat is most excellent We would thoroughly recommend this trip – Bob

September 2020

My partner and I had an excellent afternoon out with Leigh on Ullswater. I had never done kayaking before, and my partner is nervous in (not on) the water but we both felt well prepared and safe at all times and we had loads of fun. We were lucky that we were the only ones on our tour, and I think this added to our experience. I was expecting it to be to be a little circuit but we also did a couple of games and challenges (which were were free to opt out of, but didn’t) around the bay areas. We were in a two person kayak and all the safety gear was provided and had been thoroughly cleaned and sterilised before we used it. The equipment was very clean and new, and it was surprisingly comfortable. Leigh provided us with a full list of what to bring ahead of time and I’d recommend that you follow that. He took pictures on his camera and sent those too us after so we could just enjoy the afternoon free of technology. It’s a great way to enjoy the lake and we didn’t even get wet! – Abi

September 2020

Enjoyed a great morning despite strong winds with Leigh who gave us the confidence to push on with our experience gave us good advice and helped us throughout the “over too quickly” experience, very helpful advice good company and great morning out, would recommend Leigh to everyone. – Mike

September 2020

We had a fabulous time with Leigh out on Ullswater. My wife is quite scared of water and was put completely at ease by Leigh. He created an atmosphere of reassured calm which helped her enormously. I had a great time! Thanks Leigh. – Steve

September 2020

Very enjoyable day on Ullswater with Leigh and his other guests. Relaxed and fun, but with good safety measures both in terms of COVID and being safe on the water. Thanks Leigh. – Andrew.

September 2020

Challenging but fun! Really good company, very professional but can have a laugh along the way. Would definitely recommend it 🏞 Thank you Leigh 😁👍 – Samantha P.

September 2020

We had a fantastic morning in the company of Leigh (who is indeed a tall bloke) and another couple. Leigh was fun yet reassuring and professional. He is very knowledgeable of the area as well as kayaking. The games on the lake helped me get comfortable in the kayak too. Our only regret was not staying the full day. Thanks Leigh – we’re converted ! – Jennifer

September 2020

Leigh was great. So friendly and patient. We really enjoyed our experience. And would highly recommend his services to everyone.- Cherelle

August 2020

Positive: Professionalism, Quality, Responsiveness, Value
An absolutely amazing experience with an awesome guy. Would highly recommend to anyone who is looking for some fun and an outdoors adventure. You would be in the safest of hands. Completely exhilarating and so much fun. Perfect day out. Thank you so much Tallbloke for an amazing day 👌. My friends and I will definitely be back again 🤩. – Rebecca N.

August 2020

The Tall Bloke, Leigh, has a fabulous business here. We had a great day out on Ullswater, his briefing was reassuring and to the point, we were quickly out on the water and Leigh provides hints and tips along the way to help you with technique and efficiency. The activities he has you doing are fun but always with a point to them. You can tell he’s highly skilled and proficient in the sport by the way he calmly glides on the water. It gives u every confidence that you’re in safe hands. Made for a great day out for us so now we’re checking his trips to Italy out too. Our group were all sporty types but without kayaking skills. I would recommend this adventure to groups of any level or age though, as Leigh has the skills and personality that would adapt for anyone. – Steve B.

August 2020
What an awesome experience!! I’m 6 months pregnant and the half-day session was fantastic! I felt super safe the entire time and Leigh’s knowledge, support, and guidance were nothing short of a true adventure professional. I recommend this activity to anyone and everyone.. Happy Kayaking!!! – Emily J.

August 2020
“An absolutely amazing experience with an awesome guy. Would highly recommend to anyone who is looking for some fun and an outdoors adventure. You would be in the safest of hands. Completely exhilarating and so much fun. Perfect day out. Thank you so much tallbloke for an amazing day 👌. My friends and I will definitely be back again 🤩.” – Rebecca N.

August 2020
“Had a really great day yesterday. Beautiful scenery, knowledgeable instructor who made it really enjoyable and fun. Would highly recommend it.” – Gayle W.

August 2020
“We had a fantastic time going kayaking with Leigh at Ullswater. Leigh is a really nice guy and a great guide. He facilitated a trip that involved learning about the local history, geography and culture and also having lots of fun and enjoying the serenity of the lake. Highly recommendable.” – Tom B.

August 2020
“Wonderful afternoon, brilliant experience and Leigh is a fantastic guide for both the Ullswater Lake and the surrounding area. Also, if you fancy learning/talking bit of Italian along the way he’s pretty good for that too! I can’t recommend this enough. Thanks a lot Leigh! Rich and Yas” – Richie F.

July 2020
“Leigh is brilliant. Professional. Personable. Fun. Really knows his stuff. We had a brilliant morning on Ullswater with him. We were total novices but up for an adventure. Thoroughly recommend.” – Elaine S.

TripAdvisor Reviews

October 2020

What a great afternoon on Ullswater with Leigh. Leighs knowledge of the water conditions helped us to improve our own understanding of the water conditions .I fully endose other reviews that recommend you read the FAQs this will help to make your day the best it can be .Thanks again Leigh. – Andy

October 2020

We had a fantastic afternoon kayaking with Leigh. He was a brilliant instructor, really friendly, chatty and helpful. Definitely recommend to anyone visiting the Lakes wanting a fun few hours – Jodie

September 2020

Great afternoon on the lake with Leigh! Top bloke and very friendly and knowledgeable.

Felt safe the whole time and all equipment was thoroughly cleaned before we used it.
Would recommend it to anyone, great activity for couples and a great way to see the lake and nature from a different angle.

Would do it again and recommend Tall Bloke Adventures to anyone. – Leigh

September 2020

My partner and I had an excellent afternoon out with Leigh on Ulswater. I had never done kayaking before, and my partner is nervous in (not on) the water but we both felt well prepared and safe at all times and most importantly, we had loads of fun!

We were lucky that we were the only ones on our tour, and I think this added to our experience. I was expecting it to be to be a little circuit but we also did a couple of games and challenges (which you’re free to opt out of) around the bay areas.

We were in a two person kayak and all the safety gear was provided and had been thoroughly cleaned and sterilised before we used it (as you’re outside and separate from anyone else at all times, there’s no need to wear a mask). The equipment was very clean and new, and it was surprisingly comfortable. Leigh provided us with a full list of what to bring ahead of time and I’d recommend that you follow that. He took pictures on his camera and sent those too us after so we could just enjoy the afternoon free of technology.

It’s a great way to enjoy the lake and we didn’t even get wet!

Thank you for a wonderful afternoon Leigh – Abi

September 2020

Absolutely glorious late September Sunday morning kayaking on Ullswater. Tall bloke is tall and an excellent guide. Showed us some beautiful parts of the lake and gave us good tips on technique. Highly recommended. Sheila S.

September 2020

Leigh was super friendly, chatty and had loads of anecdotes to share with us . The kayaking itself was brilliant. We were blessed with the weather. The views and the whole experience was brilliant and I highly recommend it. A fabulous day was had, Thank you Leigh. If Luke has his way, we will be joining you in Italy! – Siobhain H

September 2020

It was a blustery day but Leigh inspired total confidence and guided us beautifully around Lake Ullswater. The time whizzed past and we pushed ourselves further than we believed we could whilst having good fun. I’d recommend this to anyone who fancies a go at kayaking in a fabulous location. Thank you Leigh. – Dale M.

August 2020

Really enjoyed our half day trip kayaking around Ullswater. Couldn’t have asked for a better guide Leigh, as he filled us with complete confidence with his expertise. Leigh provided us with every piece of equipment, including waterproof phone cases. Highly recommended to all. – Joe T

August 2020
“Fantastic
This was our first time doing a kayak tour and it was absolutely fantastic! We could not do this initially due to rainy day however Leigh was very kind to offer alternative day and time which worked perfectly for us. Rather turned out amazing. 🙂
He is not only a great instructor but also a very friendly and a humble guy. We loved paddling, talking, taking pictures and doing some very cool challenges.
I highly highly recommend this. You will not only enjoy beautiful Ullswater but also a great company!” – roshnij367

August 2020
“The Perfect Morning
We had a wonderful morning with Leigh on Lake Ullswater. Without a doubt it was the highlight of a long weekend visit to the lake-district.
Leigh was professional, a gent and put everyone at ease from the off. We were both new to Kayaking but everything was clearly explained and demonstrated with a clear focus that we were there to enjoy ourselves, take in the beauty of the lake and learn some new skills. This was done in a nice, relaxed manner – The delivery was perfect 😊
Leigh was also great company, genuinely passionate about the area and it was great to soak up some of his knowledge. Both Katie and myself genuinely felt like valued guests. The morning went so quickly, too quickly – I considered a mutiny but I don’t think I’d have got very far 😊 😊 – instead we will be returning as soon as possible as we both believe we have found a new rewarding hobby.
Thank You Leigh – from Katie & Dave (Oh, and Poppy remembers you from Patterdale Hall and says a big HELLO).” – David S.

July 2020
“Fantastic afternoon with Leigh
My daughter (summer) and I had a wonderful afternoon kayaking with Leigh,he was extremely professional and the perfect host,guide and instructor,making us both feel extremely safe and confident on the water! I would highly recommend and encourage anyone to spend time on the water with Leigh as your guide, Thankyou again Leigh Summer and I had a wonderful afternoon,Summer also says she looks forward to you brushing up on your Greek mythology for next time 👍🏼 Take care and thanks 🙏🏼” – Craig M.

July 2020
“Great Afternoon!
We had a great afternoon with Leigh having had limited experiences of kayaking before. Leigh was very professional and calm throughout, taking us through the safety aspects and basics, but also really friendly and interesting to chat with. It was lovely being out on the water – so peaceful – and so good to see the lake from a different view. Definitely to be recommended!” – Sarah

July 2020
“Fab day out in Ullswater
Leigh really made the day out on the lakes fun and safe. Great conversationalist though he denies it! He took his time to really make sure everyone in the group felt comfortable at all times.
I came to visit the Lakes on my own, but didn’t really feel like I had as the whole group vibed together very well and ended up exchanging contacts and being all friends by the end of the day.
Kayaking is a great way to see the scenery from a different perspective whilst giving my feet a rest after many days in the lakes walking around.
I would recommend this for complete beginners and confident kayakers alike looking for a nice day out with good company.” – Sophia K.

Facebook Reviews

October 2020

We had a fantastic afternoon kayaking with Leigh. He was a brilliant instructor, really friendly, chatty and helpful. Definitely recommend to anyone visiting the Lakes wanting a fun few hours.- Jodie H.

September 2020

Thank you so much Leigh for a fantastic afternoon on Sunday. We both absolutely loved it and you were just brilliant! I could have stayed out on the beautiful Ullswater lake all day.

Will definitely recommend you to everyone, and if you are reading this go ahead and book it you won’t regret it!

Jim and Dawn xx

September 2020

We had a fabulous time with Leigh out on Ullswater. My wife is quite scared of water and was put completely at ease by Leigh. He created an atmosphere of reassured calm which helped her enormously. I had a great time! Thanks Leigh. -Steve H.

September 2020

Absolutely brilliant experience in a fantastic setting with great views all round Ullswater. Leigh was a great instructor and he made sure that we had the best time. Highly recommended. – Peter W.

September 2020

Leigh was very friendly and made us feel at ease! The experience was fun with little games and challenges along the way, would definitely go again! – Bex S.

August 2020

Leigh is an excellent Guide/instructor, patient and knows his onions around a Canoe.

Had an amazing day on Ullswater with my 16 year old lad as a birthday treat, he’s asked to go again and we will be next time we are up in the dales/lakes. – Dorian W.

August 2020

“Ye up Big Fella”

Hi Leigh
Just to say a big Thanks for having mi. Loved every minute Kayaking with Tall Bloke Adventures.
Found it nice and informal and thought your training techniques were perfect.
The equipment was spot on. Everything we needed you supplied.
Couldn’t of asked for a better location for a beginners.
Safe and sound. 😁

Cheers
Will C.

July 2020
“I couldn’t have asked for a better instructor than Lee. He was ever so patient, attentive to our needs and a very funny chap 😂
Our safety and comfort was of his concern throughout. He made sure that all of our equipment was thoroughly cleaned and that all of over personal belongings were safe too.
When out in the water, Lee respected that we were beginners and took things slow. When he saw us gaining confidence, we began to participate in challenges and fun mini games.
Lee made Kayaking a fun and unforgettable experience (considering it was my first time). I would give it all a 10/10 !!! Thank you Lee and we will come back again when we are next in the area 👍🏾👍🏾” – Chinazo O.

July 2020
“Had a fabulous morning with Leigh today. I was very nervous at the start of it, even more so because i was in a kayak with my hubby (I shall say no more lol) but had an amazing time and by the end of it and thanks to Leighs instruction, my confidence really improved and grew beyond what I thought it would. I cant recommend Tall Bloke Adventures highly enough. We will definitely return.” – Rachel M.

June 2020
“Really really lovely morning exploring the absolutely gorgeous southern end of Ullswater by kayak. Leigh is very professional, calm, knowledgable, funny and was the perfect guide. Well looked after kit and equipment. 11/10!” – Linnhe H.

June 2020
“Fantastic lake tour in Ullswater, me and my 12 year old son loved our first time in a canoe!
Nothing was too much trouble from our guide Lee, who was so friendly, and who made the day so much fun. Lee was so reassuring and patient with us as it was our first time.
Most definitely recommend 100% We’ll be back! 👍👍👍” – Carla S.

June 2020
“What a fantastic social distanced kayak this morning on Ullswater … thanks to Leigh for his encouragement and skilful guiding. A perfect way to spend a sunny morning with friends.” – Kate L.

Airbnb Reviews

November 2020

Such a great experience. Leigh is very knowledgeable and experienced, all his equipment was clean and in great condition. He provided water proofs for my clothes and phone. He was just a nice, down to earth guy to hang out with for a few hours on the water. Would recommend! – Jade

October 2020

Fantastic! Leigh was professional and engaging. I enjoyed the whole experience and would recommend. – Bridie

October 2020

Leigh was great from start to finish. An expert guide who made us feel safe and secure from the off, allowing us to enjoy a really lovely trip around Ullswater. – Alun

October 2020

We had the best time out on the Kayak with Leigh, felt really comfortable and Leigh’s knowledge was brilliant! Really enjoyable morning and lovely to learn something g new! Thank you – April

October 2020

Fantastic fun! The wee games were very enjoyable and unexpected. The scenery was stunning and Leigh was a very fun and endearing host – Chris

October 2020

Amazing from start to finished felt very safe even in these uncertain times of Covid 19. Safety instructions were simple equipment well maintained. The surroundings couldn’t be more beautiful and Leigh made it so much fun for us 🙂 – Victoria

October 2020

Fantastic experience, a beautiful setting and Leigh could not be more helpful or patient! A great way to spend an afternoon and see the lake in all its beauty – Samantha

October 2020

Me and my partner went on a morning kayak session with Leigh for the first time! Everything was amazing, even the rain could not stop our experience and if anything only added to it with a 10/10 rainbow at the end! Leigh was super friendly and personable and we both left feeling great after such an amazing experience. Would not hesitate to recommend Leigh and this experience to anyone visiting the lakes. Thanks again Leigh! – Kushal

September 2020

We didn’t really know what to expect however we thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon and Leigh was very, very easy to get on with and have a laugh with. We would definitely recommend for a cute, fun date! – Rachel

September 2020

We really enjoyed exploring the lake guided by Leigh, who was very patient and reassuring, and showed us the ropes and made us feel safe at all time. All the gear is tip-top, the views are great, and Leigh is an interesting chap. Happy to recommend! – Deborah

September 2020

My partner and I enjoyed a morning’s kayaking on Ullswater. I’d never been in a kayak before but Leigh instantly put me at ease. He was an easygoing yet clearly competent and knowledgeable guide. It was an incredible experience and we got to explore little coves and bays I never would have found (or felt confident to find) without a guide. I would recommend this experience 100%. – Deborah

September 2020

An excellent kayaking adventure on Ullswater. Leigh was the perfect instructor, good safety advice, firm and fair with the do’s and dont’s. Great raconteur too on the water, warm and engaging. Perfect weather conditions helped and an idyllic setting. Unbelievably blue sky surrounded by the majesty of the mountains and fells of Ullswater. Highly recommended. I will definitely return. – Richard

September 2020

Leigh was very informative before we even got into the boats. He explained all safety measures and what to do if we capsized (no-one did which was good) and he made the experience fun. There were games along the way which kept it light hearted, and when it got a bit windy and I started to worry, Leigh kept me calm and helped us back the rest of the way. Very professional and very lovely. I would recommend Leigh and this experience in a heartbeat. – Molly

September 2020

Me & my boyfriend had the best time kayaking with Leigh! I was absolutely petrified of the open water at first, but Leigh made me feel at ease and I soon calmed down and enjoyed myself. Brilliant morning on the water. – Amy

September 2020

Leigh is highly experienced and a great coach. He designed a really pleasant itinerary making our kayaking trip with him a really fun day out that left me wanting to try kayaking again soon. – Greg

September 2020

We had a fantastic time kayaking with Leigh. He was really friendly and a very good instructor. It was great to do extra games and activities whilst paddling. The location is amazing and we got to paddle a lot further than we were expecting. Even the rain couldn’t wash our smiles away. This trip is 100% value for money. – Kayleigh

September 2020

Had a fantastic morning out on the lake! Such beautiful views everywhere you looked (even with a bit of rain at the end of the 3 hour trip)! Leigh was very knowledgeable about Kayaking and the area and made sure we were all safe the entire time. I attended on my own and have never done any kayaking before but I was made to feel very welcome by Leigh and the other two guests -We all had a good chat and laugh throughout. Would highly recommend! Thank you so much! – Sophie

September 2020

Had such a fun morning! Beautiful scenery and Leigh was an amazing host! It was our first time kayaking but Leigh made us feel at ease and feel like we learnt a lot and are planning to take up the sport more often in the future Would definitely recommend! Have a good breakfast beforehand tho, you work up quite an appetite 🙂 – Dan

September 2020

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, our guide was Leigh and was very friendly and a lovely man, made the experience wonderful. The scenery was incredible, beautiful place and would highly recommend to everyone 😊 – Sam

September 2020

My partner and I booked this experience for my birthday with very limited experience and we both had a fabulous time, Leigh was brilliant, made us feel really welcome and went through everything we needed to know. He was an excellent story teller, kept things interesting and we felt safe under his direction. The place is so beautiful and we had the weather on our side… eventually. Leigh took some wonderful action shots that we can keep which was a fabulous added benefit to this truly wonderful experience, I would 100% recommend this to anyone xx – Kaysie

September 2020

Great experience! Leigh knows his stuff, and made us feel completely safe. The location is breathtakingly beautiful, we played some fun games and I couldn’t recommend the trip more highly. – Richard

September 2020

Highly recommended for the beauty of the location, the attentiveness, kindness and expertise of the host and the uniqueness of the experience. We loved it. – Kawal

September 2020

Would highly recommend this experience! I loved that Leigh kept the group small, so he could tailor everything as needed – from instructions & setup to where we went on the lake, it felt personalised for our group of 4. The views from the lake are spectacular, and I really enjoyed getting to see some of the little islands up close. Everything was also very clean, well maintained, and dry! – Rachael

August 2020

Leigh greeted us with a smile. Immediately put us at ease and secured us ample parking. He didn’t watch the clock during the experience. We really enjoyed the games and interaction. He put a smile on my teens face (which is quite a feat haha) Hes really patient with beginners. And you can tell the water is more of a passion, than a job. Overall a 5* experience in a beautiful setting. I would highly recommend leigh to anyone wishing to hit the water, here in the UK or in Italy. 🙂 – Cherelle

August 2020

Great experience, Leigh is really friendly and we would highly recommended for people in the area – James

August 2020

A great way to experience the water in the Lake District. Played some games, enjoyed the scenery and learnt some basic things about kayaking. A great outdoor experience in 3 hours. I’m grateful for the photos Leigh took on his camera. – Jill

August 2020

Such an awesome afternoon on the water with Leigh! He’s very experienced but also fun. We did a fair bit of paddling and played some games in quiet, picturesque Ullswater bays. We highly recommend Tall Bloke Adventures, and we will come for more! – Laura

August 2020

Great afternoon out on the lake with Leigh. We felt very safe (and clean), lots of personal touches like pillows to save your back, ice packs in the dry bags to keep your drinks cool and lots of antibac. Beautiful scenery, nice company and played some games! – Sarah

August 2020

We had an awesome time with Leigh, he explained all of the kayaking methods in a friendly and fun manner, in no time at all we felt more than confident navigating the lake. Leigh set us some challenges in order to improve our technique which we really enjoyed. We couldn’t recommend this experience highly enough, three hours on the beautiful Ullswater lake with our great mentor Leigh. – Bart

August 2020

We had a fantastic morning on the water with Leigh. Despite the weather conditions not being perfect he ensured that the experience was safe and we had a blast! The lake was beautiful and Leigh couldn’t be better as a guide/instructor. We thought that this offered excellent value for money and it was such a lovely and fun way to spend a morning of our holiday. Thank you Leigh! – Beth